What are the differences between Enhanced vs. Concealed Handgun Carry Permits?
Effective 1/1/2020, the current Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit will be referred to as an Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit (ECP) that allows the permit holder to carry their handgun in both open and concealed manner. Available only after 1/1/2020, the Concealed Handgun Carry Permit limits the permit holder to conceal carry only.
CCPs also have greater school-related handgun carry restrictions than ECPs.
What are the key qualification differences between obtaining an ECP vs. a CCP?
ECP applicants must attend an 8-hr handgun safety course developed by the State and offered by state-certified instructors that consists of classroom training and testing as well as range training and target testing. Those seeking a CCP may rely on a variety of more general firearms training opportunities including electronic, video or online training.
What is Reciprocity and why is it important to handgun carry permit holders?
Reciprocity is the process by which individual states recognize the laws of other states. As far as handgun carry permits are concerned, Reciprocity Agreements are entered into between various states to honor the issuing state’s permit. In doing so, the state that honors another’s permit does so subject to the restrictions of that honoring state.
For example, thirty seven states have Reciprocity Agreements that honor the current Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit (as of 1/1/2020 to be referred to as the Enhanced Carry Permit (ECP)). It is not known how many states will come to recognize the new Concealed Carry Permit (CCP)).
What is the process for obtaining a CCP and how do I go about it?
Within one year of completing the online training course, you must present a course “Certificate of Successful Completion” along with the TN Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s “Concealed Handgun Carry Permit Proof of Training” form, to a full service Driver License Station. There, you will have your picture taken and your electronic signature captured. You must also bring the following:
- TN Driver License, state-issued photo ID or other approved proof of identity and TN residency
- Payment of non-refundable $65.00 application and processing fee in cash, credit card, money order or certified check (no personal checks)
You will be directed to a location to be fingerprinted
at no additional fee.
How long is my CCP valid?
The CCP is valid for 8 years from the date of issuance and is renewable online or at a Drivers License Station.
What type of firearm can I carry with my CCP?
You can carry any handgun that you are legally able to purchase, own and possess.
Does the CCP allow me to open carry under any circumstances?
No, while the ECP allows both open and concealed carry, the CCP requires you to carry concealed at all times.
What are some of the other key restrictions for a CCP as compared to the ECP?
CCP holders may not carry at any school or university, public or private.
When do I have to carry my Concealed Carry Permit?
You must carry your permit any time you are carrying your handgun.
Do I have to undergo a background check in order to obtain my CCP?
Yes, as is the case with the obtaining an ECP, a thorough background check, with fingerprinting requirements, is necessary for obtaining a CCP.
Can I carry my handgun once I have successfully completed my online training course?
No, you can only carry once the entire application process, including the background check, has been completed and the actual CCP card has been sent to you and is in your hands.
What happens if I do not successfully complete the online training course?
You may take the course again by re-registering and paying the registration fee.
When is the online training course available?
The online training course is available 24/7 and can be taken on a PC, laptop, tablet or smart phone.
Once I begin the online training course, do I have to complete it in one sitting?
No, the training course does not have to be completed in one sitting.
Can more than one person take the course on a single registration and fee?
No, the course is limited to one person per registration. The “Certificate of Course Completion” will be issued to a single named individual.
Do I have to qualify at a shooting range to obtain my CCP?
No, there are no shooting or range requirements associated with the CCP.